Siobhán Cleary

10 Siobhan C

‘What interests me most is material rather than style.’

Born in Dublin in 1970, Siobhán Cleary studied music at the National University of Ireland (Maynooth), Queen’s University Belfast and Trinity College Dublin. In 1997, a concert of her music was performed at Cité International des Arts in Paris. Her orchestral work, Threads (1994), was selected by Vienna Modern Masters for performance at the Second International Festival of New Music for Orchestra in Olomouc in the Czech Republic. Other orchestral works include Alchemy (2001) and Cokaygne (2008) both commissioned by RTÉ and performed by the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra. Cleary has written the music for two Roger Corman films, Spacejacked! and Dangerous Curves. She also composed the scores for the Andrew Legge film, The Time- Traveller, Maynard Kraak’s Crazy Pickles and Planet Korda’s The Book Smugglers. She further worked with the Ciniteca di Bologna writing music scores to restored films, most notably the Dali/Buñuel classic Un Chien Andalou. Theophilus Thistle and the Myth of Miss Muffett, a work based on tongue twisters in different languages was selected by Paul Hillier to be performed as part of the Imagine Ireland, Culture Ireland’s year-long celebration of Irish arts in the United States in 2011. She was recipient of the first Annual Irish Residency at the soundSCAPE Festival in Maccagno, Italy in July 2013, which featured a premiére of the introduction of her new opera Ondine performed by Tony Arnold. Cleary was elected to Aosdána, Ireland’s state-sponsored academy of creative artists in 2008.

Photograph: Tony Carragher. Siobhán Cleary at her home in Boyle, 20 July 2013. 

See also:

Selected works

It’s ‘d’ Jim, but not as we know it (2000 rev. 2003) for ensemble


Alchemy (2001)


Diamorphine (2005)


The Dole of the King’s Daughter (2005)


Cokaygne (2009)


Theophilus Thistle (2010)


Film Music

Dangerous Curves